Queen Gertrude’s Letter #4

011

My dear brother,

I have done nothing to be ashamed of. I am innocent of any wrongdoing. I have done nothing wrong.

No matter how I write it, the lie shines through.

I have spent an inordinate amount of time with my husband the King’s brother. While I have not engaged in any improprieties, I regret to write such a shameful admission: I love my husband’s brother. He is nothing like my husband the King. Yet I love him. I would do anything to be with him.

Alas! My hands are bound. My son loves his father and I, but especially his father. If I were to leave, my son would consider it a base betrayal. There would be no way to make things right. He would never forgive me. It would break my heart.

So, I will stay with my husband the King. For my son’s sake.

I must never deliver these letters to you or anyone else. It would be my undoing.

Your sister the Queen

Gertrude

Leave a Reply

