The Liebster Award

untitled

Thank you, Lisa Lancaster lisalancaster.wordpress.com, for nominating me for the Liebster Award! I had read about the award on other blogs, but I hadn’t expected anyone to nominate me. So, I really appreciate it.  🙂  I enjoy reading your posts. You have a great writing voice. (It may sound like I’m just being a kissy-face, but I really mean it.)

All righty! Time to get down to business!

My favorite blog: I’d have to say it’s A Momma’s View ( amommasview.wordpress.com ). Her blog is always interesting, uplifting, and insightful.  I especially like her Tell Me Something Good posts, where you tell her something good that is happening in your life. I was actually going to nominate her for the Liebster Award, but then I discovered that she has over a thousand followers. Which is totally awesome for her!  😀

The updated rules for the 2016 award are as follows: 

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog.
  3. Write a 150-300 word post on your favorite blog that is not your own. Explain why this blog is your favorite and provide links.
  4. Provide 10 random facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate 5-11 bloggers that have less than 200 followers for this award.
  6. List the rules in your post.
  7. Inform your nominees that they have been nominated for the Liebster Award and provide a link for their blogs.
  8. Create 11 questions for your nominees to answer.

My Ten Random Facts are:

  1. I’ve worked at a skin and hair clinic, a dental office, a transcription company, and the Radiology department in a hospital.
  2. I love taking pictures of crazy random things. My sister calls them my “taking pictures of dirt” pictures.
  3. I hate being in pictures. I just don’t think I photograph well.
  4. I have way too many music CDs.They range from Gregorian chant to pop music to Broadway to random piano music and more.
  5. I like the Camelot movie soundtrack more than the Broadway one with Julie Andrews. I also really like the 2004 Phantom of the Opera movie soundtrack.
  6. I love buying new dishes and fancy plastic cups.
  7. If I couldn’t eat/drink dairy anymore, I would be very sad.
  8. I have a purse that I bought from Meijers. It was a little more expensive than what I normally pay for purses, but it has lasted crazy long. It’s a sad degraded wreck, but it still works. So, even though my Mom thinks I should totally replace it, I just can’t. I told her that I’ll replace it when the middle zipper stops working.
  9. I love cooking shows on the Food Network. Especially Chopped.
  10. I can’t wear perfume. It makes my head feel weird and clogged up – like someone stuffed a dry washcloth inside my forehead. So, I compensate by wearing Bath and Body Works lotions, which don’t bother me at all.

My five nominations are:

aboutyounglove.wordpress.com

princesslarra.wordpress.com

diaryofalonelywriter.com

unclepizza.wordpress.com

fictionplayground.wordpress.com

The Answers to Lisa’s Questions:

  1. Who is your favorite author? Why?   That’s an easy one: John Bellairs. I love his style of writing (goofy humor + mystery + creepy ooky monsters) and I love the fact that he had positive Catholic elements/characters in his books.
  2. If you were a character in any book who would you be? Oh, that’s a hard one. Book characters always have such complicated lives (by necessity, of course), they wind up complicating the lives of everyone around them. Hmm. I could be flippant and say an independent Entwife off on her own adventures.  😆 Would that count?
  3. What do you do when you think no one is looking? I quietly sing along to my favorite CDs. When I’m working the 3p-11p shift at my work, I’m alone at the front desk. So, I blast my music and write my stories (when no one is looking).   🙂
  4. If you only had $10 left. What would you spend it on? Ooo. Ten dollars…Mmm. A bag of Reeses peanut butter cups and a bottle of Dasani. Yep.
  5. Electronic books or paper books? Paper books. Although, I do see the advantage of electronic books. But my inner fuddy-duddy will always prefer paper books. There’s a weird sort of magic about them that e-books can’t duplicate.
  6. One word that describes you? Soft-spoken. It’s a hyphenated word. So, it counts.  😆   
  7. One word someone else might use to describe you? Sweet. (I’ve actually had patients at my work call me this.)
  8. If you weren’t blogging right now, what would you be doing? Working on one or two of my off-line stories.
  9. Who would you want to write a book about your life? Hmm, if it could be anyone living or dead, I’d say L.M. Montgomery or Diana Wynne Jones. Too bad they’re both dead.  😦 
  10. What animal would you like to be? I’d love to be a cat. Seems horribly stereotypical and easy, but it’s true. Cats are awesome little creatures. If they believe that they can make a jump, they will go for it without any fear.
  11. What gets you up in the morning? My mental alarm clock.  And the thought of checking for comments on my blog.  🙂

My 11 questions for my nominees (Sorry if they’re incredibly random):

  1. Kittens or puppies or other (I don’t know. Like fox kits or something else?)?
  2. Is there anything you would never write about?
  3. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kind?
  4. Do you ever outline your stories or do you just go with the story’s flow?
  5. If someone gave you a hippopotamus for Christmas, what would you do? And if you decide to keep it, what would you do with it?
  6. What made you decide to start blogging?
  7. Have you ever read a book that made you irritated with its lack of logic and/or its incredibly stupid characters?
  8. Have you ever found yourself laughing out loud as you’re writing?
  9. Jelly beans or gummy worms?
  10. If someone gave you 10,000 dollars in a grocery bag, what would you do? And, if you decide to keep it, what would you do with it?
2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

