Letters To Euturpe – Good-bye, Stranger

023It was an early morning yesterday. I woke up before the dawn. The sky was still a shade of navy blue/midnight black, which suited me just fine. Bright lights hurt my eyes and sunlight is the brightest light I know.

I was hungry. I needed to go out there and get something to eat. But dawn would arrive soon. Too soon. I didn’t want to be out there when it came.

I could just sleep the day away and wait for nightfall. It seemed like such a good idea. I covered my head with my blanket and rolled over on my side.

My stomach roared and rowled its hunger.

I sighed and uncovered my head. I stared up into the dark. I could try to wait.

My stomach roared with all of its unholy might.

I sighed again and got out of bed. Hopefully, this morning’s hunt would be fast and easy.

Hopefully, my prey wouldn’t be someone I knew. I smiled at the thought. Most of the people I knew wouldn’t be caught outside this time of night. Still. Things happen. Strange, inexplicable things that send decent people out onto the streets at unholy hours.

Still, I hoped for it to be a complete stranger.

That was yesterday.

***

Today. Today, it’s midnight.

I sit alone on my bed.

I can’t sleep.

I don’t want to go out there.

I don’t want to kill anyone ever again.

I can still see her face. The shock. The pain. Her face paling to death.

I knew her.

I knew her and I killed her.

Something inside me hurts and it hurts bad.

I’m hungry again.

I don’t know what to do.

https://tuckedintoacorner.wordpress.com/2016/05/18/letters-to-euturpe-9/

 

5 thoughts on “Letters To Euturpe – Good-bye, Stranger

  1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was originally going to make it a time travel story, but it became way too tangled up. So, I decided to make it a vampire story instead. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

