Writing about Writing and Liza Minelli

“What good is sitting alone in your room? Come, hear the music play…”

A couple of days ago, I watched a movie clip of Liza Minelli sing “Cabaret” on Youtube. I watched a couple of other singers tackle that song, but Liza’s version is the best I’ve heard. She performed it with so much gusto.

Of course, I got that song stuck in my head.

I listened to Patti Lupone sing “Blow, Gabriel, Blow” from the musical “Anything Goes” to see if her brassy voice would kick Liza out of my head. Nice try, but now Patti and Liza are doing a time-share arrangement in there. If I’m not thinking of the one, I’m thinking about the other. On the bright side, they’re both excellent singers singing excellent songs. So, I guess I can’t complain too much.  🙂  There are a great many ways it could be worse.

However, it wasn’t until just a few minutes ago that I realized how the quote at the beginning of my post can apply to writers. While it’s important to sit your tail down and write, sometimes you have to leave your room and “hear the music play”. That could mean something as basic as going shopping or going to your day job. Force your introverted self to be out there around other people. Hear their voices and listen to their words. Listen to their music.

It could also mean going for a walk to clear the dull thoughts out of your head and let the better ones in. Breathe in some clean, fresh air. Be surrounded by wild, green beauty and bird song.

Or it could simply mean going to a concert to literally hear the music play.

Do you ever get songs stuck in your head? If so, what is the worst song that got stuck in there? 

 

Leave a Reply

