Waiting To Create My World

052.JPG“Hey, Worthington!”

I cringed at the sound of Harmlee’s voice. I tried to walk a little faster, but she caught up to me.

“I created a world last week. Did you know that?”

“Yes.”

“Grand Madame Spreefight told me that it was the best world that she has ever seen. Did you know that?”

“Yes.”

“So, when are you going to create your world? Huh?”

I considered teleporting to the other side of the galaxy, but I knew the futility of it. She would find me. “Grand Madame Spreefight has not given me a template yet.”

“She never will give you one. You know that, right?”

“She will. I just need to be patient.”

“I don’t think patience will help you any. Not after that whole Pandora’s Tomb fiasco.”

I didn’t want to agree with her, but she wasn’t wrong. “It wasn’t entirely my fault.”

“But it was mostly your fault. And that ‘mostly’ is why she will never give you a template.”

It had taken Grand Madame Spreefight and her entire Gendarme Buster Squad a heaven’s month to subdue the dark emanations and return them to the tomb. “You might be right.”

“I am.”

“But I will not give up hope.”

“Idiot.”

***

Time passed. Sometimes quickly. Sometimes slowly. But each day held the same promise and released the same defeat.

Grand Madame Spreefight did not summon me.

I did not receive my template.

Maybe Harmlee was right.

Maybe I was wrong.

Such thoughts did not please me.

***

“Hey, Worthington!”

I ran, but she still caught up to me.

“I created people on my world today. Did you know that?”

I gave up and slowed to a reasonable walk. “Yes.”

“My people are the most wonderful little things. Did you know that?”

“Yes.”

“After I created them, I went down into their world and had speaks with them.”

I scowled. “You aren’t supposed to do that. It’s against the rules.”

She shrugged. “Anyway, they are so intelligent. Not as intelligent as us, of course. It wouldn’t be wise to make them that smart.”

I didn’t respond to that, but I don’t think she noticed. She just kept talking, “I am so glad I decided to just create them instead of going through the long, evolutionary process. I would have had to wait for too many forevers to talk to them if I took that route. And they are such a pleasure to talk to. I bet you didn’t know that.”

I sighed. “I do.”

She grinned at me. “Have you created a world yet?”

“You know my answer.”

“Of course, I do. Your answer is No.”

“You’re right.”

“Of course, I am.”

“But I still believe that she will give me a template.”

“Ha!”

“She will! I have faith in her.” My legs locked up on me, forcing me to stop. Before I could try to understand what ailed me, my eyes snapped shut. My body lifted off the ground. I floated upwards and I could not resist.

***

The delicious smell of greenest grass and freshest cream filled the air. I landed on something hard and smooth, warm and cool. I opened my eyes without any difficulty.

I found myself on a balcony crafted out of green and white marble. I reached towards the railing.

A woman’s voice said, “Do not touch it yet.”

I turned around and saw her. She wasn’t beautiful, but something about her confounded my senses. I thought that she wore a dress as white as roses and her long hair was as brown as a newborn sky. Her voice made me think of summer noons and harvest grains. And I could not understand why.

“Do you know who I am?”

And I knew without understanding how I knew. “Grand Madame Spreefight.”

“Yes. I have made you wait long and now. Now, your time has come. You may touch the railing.”

I obeyed her without question.

A small crystal globe appeared in the air before me.

“That is your world to create as you see fit.”

“My world…”

“Create with wisdom and knowledge. Craft it well.”

“My own world…” I grinned. “It’s all mine.”

“Be careful, Worthington. Be kind. And, most important of all, be just. It will not be easy.”

“I’ll try to do the best I can.”

“I know you will.” She smiled. It was like dancing in the wind. “I have faith in you.”

Leave a Reply

