The Five Saddest Words

005.JPG

Shiny things don’t frighten me. They dazzle and bewitch my eyes. They fill me with possessive thoughts and wants and needs.

I love shiny things and that is my truth.

Then.

He proposed and offered me a ring of precision cut glass and diamonds and silver.

An irrational fear came over me. I broke out into a cold sweat. My heart pounded. And I wanted to throw that ring into the nearest ocean and run far from it.

But I told him the truth instead. “I can’t marry you. Not with that ring.”

He closed the box and I sighed with relief. “Why?”

“I just can’t.”

“I can’t afford another ring. It’s this or nothing.”

“Then.” I looked into his hazel eyes. “It’s nothing.”

He regarded me with stone faced anger. “There’s someone else.”

“No. It will always be you.” I shuddered. “But that ring…”

“This ring is beautiful and rare.”

I couldn’t reply to that.

“It belonged to my grandmother and it belonged to her mother and her mother and—”

“It doesn’t matter how many generations of mothers it belonged to. I can’t take it. ”

“Why?”

How could I explain such an irrational fear?  I took the box and reluctantly opened it again. This time, however, I wasn’t afraid.

No. It was worse.

I saw the truth.

I saw the truth and it broke my heart. Because I could finally see the ring’s beauty. “This ring doesn’t belong to me.”

He frowned.

“It belongs to someone else. Someone you were meant to love.”

“But I want you.”

“I love you and I always will.”

“But?”

“We aren’t meant to be.”

via Photo Challenge: Shine

Leave a Reply

