Crabs and Magic

shining-waves

Elissa grabbed her husband’s arm. “I don’t know why you’re being so stubborn.” She jerked and dragged him out of the car. “Our therapist said that this would be good for us.”

“Hmph. She also said that bonding over making tofu would be good for us. I hate tofu and I hate the beach.”

“Don’t be such a stupid—”

“Don’t call me stupid.”

“Well, don’t be stupid.” She slammed the door shut. “I don’t care what you say or what you even want. You and I are going to sit on that beach and meditate.”

“Of course, we are. After all, the Great Goddess Therapist has given her command and we must hasten to obey.”

Elissa sighed. “George, please. We won’t even have to talk to each other.”

“Well, isn’t that a blessing.”

The corners of her mouth dipped downwards. “How did we reach this point? I love you.”

A pained expression came upon his face. “Just like you love the dryer repair guy.”

“I made a mistake.” She reached for him.

He backed away from her touch. “I’ll see you on the beach.” He headed towards the boardwalk.

She bowed her head and followed him. Her mind raced and babbled about what she should have said.

Kind words.

Loving words.

Gentle words.

Persuasive words.

But, she thought. I called him stupid. Why do I let my anger get the best of me? Why can’t I keep calm? Why—

“Elissa. Look.”

The wonder in his voice made her stop and look up.

The ocean was gone. An innumerable amount of crabs skittered and crawled in its place. Some were as gray as a stormcloud. Others were as orange as the setting sun. A select few were as blue as the morning sky.

“What?” It was the only word she could get out of her mouth.

He grinned at her. It was his first real smile in months. There was no malice or sarcasm in it. Just pure happiness.

Elissa couldn’t help herself. She smiled back at him. A smile without guilt or shame.

“Isn’t it wonderful?”

“More wonderful than you know.” She reached for his arm, but she moved too slowly.

He ran down to the sand, to the crabs.

As he ran, his body changed color and shape. His arms shortened and hardened. His legs multiplied and shortened and bended. His body turned vibrantly red.

“No.” Elissa ran after him. “George! Don’t leave me! Come back! Come back!” Her body began its own transformation.

By the time she caught up to him, their transformation was complete.

He turned and looked at her – a perfectly blue crab. “Elissa?”

“George.”

“You came for me.”

If she had a proper human mouth, she would have smiled. “Yes. I love you, George.”

He tried to stroke her face with his claw, but his claw was too big and her face too small. But it didn’t matter. “I love you too.”

2 thoughts on “Crabs and Magic

Leave a Reply

