Writing About…I Am Thankful

Over on the Writer’s Digest Creative Writing Prompts  ( http://www.writersdigest.com/prompts/thankful-im-a-writer  ) , the current prompt is: Finish this sentence: I’m thankful I’m a writer because …

I decided to do two takes on it. The first one was purely fictional because…Well. Because I enjoy tweaking the prompts, trying to see how I can take them into an unexpected direction.

I was happy with how it turned out. So, I was going to just leave it at that. But then I read the other responses and I felt like doing a more personal non-fictional one.

So, if you don’t mind me being a little spammy, I’m going to post both of them over here.

This is the fictional take:

Cessa Millagray read the assignment. “I’m thankful I’m a writer because…” She frowned.

“But I’m not a writer.”

The teacher gave her the Killing Curse glare.

Cessa closed her mouth. She doodled flowers and ponies and warrior rabbits. I’m not a writer.

She flipped the page over and drew a landscape in pencil gray and paper white with a unicorn looking plaintive at the sky. She shaded in the night. She placed the brink of tears in the unicorn’s eyes.

She added some fly-away hairs in the unicorn’s mane and tail. She darkened the unicorn’s shadow on the ground.

She drew birds – black feathered shapes – in the sky. I’m not a writer and I’m glad.

Cessa stopped in mid-shading.

She knew what she wanted to write for her assignment.

She flipped back to the assignment and wrote:

I am not a writer. I don’t think in terms of adjectives and adverbs and pronouns and repetitive word use and clichés and I am thankful.

I see colors.

I see lines and shapes.

I see a line become a smile or curve into a woman’s face.

I see the curl of a woman’s hair and the straightness of a man’s tie.

I see a child reaching for her mother. I see the difference in their lines.

I see light and shadow and how they can create a mood or resounding beauty or surprising ugliness.

I see all of these things and more because I am not a writer.

I am a creator of landscapes and flowers and rabbits and fantasy and reality.

I am an artist.

And I am very thankful for that.

***

And this one was just me writing as me:

I am thankful that I am a writer, because it has helped me find my true voice.

I love music and singing. My vocal range, unfortunately, is limited at best and tone deaf at worst.

Yet, as I’ve written stories through these prompts, I have discovered that I do have a voice. It just wasn’t the one I was expecting.

It is not a voice filled with musical notes and key signatures.

It is a voice with a weird sense of humor and moderately crazy characters.

It is a voice filled with nouns and pronouns and adjectives and the necessary amount of adverbs.

It is the voice of my characters.

It is the voice within my stories.

And I am very thankful for it. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

