Letters To Euturpe #36 – Death Came Slowly, Gently

Death came slowly, gently
to take my father’s hand.
“Come. Come.” he whispered kindly, gently.
“Come away to my land.”

My father shook his head slowly, sadly.
“I cannot go.
There are places I need to see.
So many things I need to know.”

“But the night is closing in.” said Death softly, gently.
“And the day is no more.
Come, come with me steady, gently.
I will lead you to Heaven’s door.”

My father shook his head slowly, sadly.
“Underneath my bed lies a raincoat
I’ve yet to wear.
Packed full with books I’ve yet to read.
Packed filled with scarves I intend to share.”

“But the night air is turning a-chill.” said Death kindly, softly.
And the day’s warmth has passed away.
Come. Come with me steady, softly.
I will lead you into a beautiful new day.”

My father shook his head painfully, sadly.
“There is so much I  could have done.
So much I’ve failed to do.
Please don’t let this be my end.
Give me a chance to start anew.”

Death shook his head slowly, sadly.
“All of your life, you were given chances
Choices to be made.
You go now to face your Creator
To see what debts need to be paid.”

My father shook his head stubbornly, fearfully.
“I am not ready.
I am afraid.
Can you not delay this for an hour
Or maybe some other day?”

“No.” said Death softly, gently.
“Come. Come with me.
For it is time for you to go.
God will judge you justly, kindly.
For all of your faults and virtue he knows.”

Death held out his hand to my father.
“Come. Come with me.”

My father looked about inside his head quickly, sadly.
Hoping for an escape he could make.
But there was none – he was all out of words.
He reached forward and Death’s hand he did take.

 

https://tuckedintoacorner.wordpress.com/2016/11/30/letters-to-euturpe-36/

2 thoughts on “Letters To Euturpe #36 – Death Came Slowly, Gently

    1. Thank you for your comments and for giving such an intriguing set of lyrics to work with.

      When I was writing this piece, I was thinking about an animation short I found on Youtube. It’s called Coda and it involves a man trying to delay Death from taking him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

