Daily Prompt: Sacred

Author’s Note: The very basic idea for this story came to me during Mass today. I decided to write it all down and share it with you guys.

I had inherited a grand old mansion, practically a castle, from my Irish grandfather. It needed some maintenance, some spit and shine, lots of grease and oil, and a whole lot of sweeping.

Lands sakes. I never seen so much dust and dirt. Dirt! I don’t know how dirt got into the house, but it was disgusting and everywhere.

Anyway, turns out the mansion had its own little side chapel. I decided to tackle that before I got serious about cleaning the house. The chapel was just a small thing, just big enough for a small Irish family to pack into with a bit of kicking room to spare.

I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do with that space. The old place hadn’t had a priest or a minister or any such attached to it for the past three hundred years. But I figured I’d get it cleaned and then do some serious thinking about what to do with it.

I pulled out my broom and scoop and set myself to work.

Dust and dust and the ever ubiquitous dirt. Then, I noticed something tangled up in the corners. It wasn’t dust. It wasn’t dirt. I would have shrugged it off as cobwebs or  just plain trash, but there was a burnished shine to it.

I swept it towards me, just in case rats or something were living inside it. Can’t be too careful about stuff. I picked it up with a whole lot of care.

They were words.

Ancient words that had been spoken in this chapel many times. Words like Dominus vobiscum, Et cum Spiritu tuo, Oremus, Pater noster, Alleluia, Puer natus in Bethlehem, Flectua genua,  Levate, Jerusalem, Christus, mihi, salve, sancta Maria, mater Dei, and so many more. They were like fine spun silk. So thin and delicate, yet powerful enough to stand the tests of time.

I tried to say them out loud, but I knew my pronunciation had to be wrong.

I sat down on one of the dusty pews. What could I do with them? Throw them out? That didn’t seem appropriate. I needed to give it to someone.

I got out of my seat and carefully gathered them up.

I would give them to someone.

Someone who would love and care for their beauty.

via Daily Prompt: Sacred

Leave a Reply

