A Stalker’s Love Song

I see you there every day
Sitting there in your French beret
Writing in your book for one.

I see you in your motorcar
Head held high as if you’re a star
Singing a song for one.

And I wonder.
I can’t help but wonder.
Is there room for me in your life?

And I
I wonder.
Do I want to know you better?
Or do I prefer this voyeuristic life?

I see you across the street.

And I

I see you at the store
Buying bread and a little more

And I
I wonder

Buying bread for one
And not for two.

Do I want to know you better?
When I know you already so well?

And I
I wonder
If you sometimes wonder
If you are longing for one plus one to equal two?

I see you leave and go on home.
I’ll see you tomorrow at the same stores.
And I’ll wonder
About you.
About you and me.

 

Leave a Reply

