Letters To Euturpe #39 – Meretricious Man

She smiled bright
In the candles’ warm light.
“Darling, you are
by far
the most meretricious man I’ve known.”

I smiled in return
and wondered where she’d learned
such a brilliant word.

I thanked her for the compliment
for I had assumed that’s what she’d meant
it to be.

She laughed bright
in the candles’ warm light.
“Darling, you don’t see
what, my darling, you mean to me.”

“You called me meretricious, my pet,
so I’d say you’re wrong. I get
you. Your meaning is clear.”

“Is it, my darling, all that clear?
Is it, my darling, oh my dear?”

“Yes. You clearly think that I
am of great merit. You think that I
am worth a lot.”

She laughed bright
in the candles’ gentle golden light.
“This has been a lovely day
and a most delightful game.
But I will advance now
to the winning goal.”

“Meretricious is not a compliment
and indeed, even if it were, that is not what I meant
it to be.”

Meretricious means worthless
valueless
cheap and tawdry too.
And that, my darling, is what I think of you.”

https://tuckedintoacorner.wordpress.com/2016/12/21/letters-to-euturpe-39/comment-page-1/#comment-5094

Leave a Reply

