Letters To Euturpe #42: Magic Isn’t/Is Real

I believe in realism.
What is so is so is so.
What is not is not is not.

Magic isn’t real.
It is stories.
It is fake fairy wings
strapped to a child’s back.

That is so.
That is what I know.

It is what I knew.

Magic entered my life.
With the sound of silvered wings.
And the touch of a small leaf-like hand.
And the expression of profound trust.

“Lead me home.”
Her voice was like bells.
“For I am lost.”
She spoke in music.

I didn’t believe in her.
I thought it a disease.
I thought it just a dream.
I thought it profoundly unreal.

And I don’t believe in what is unreal.

I believe in realism.
What is so is so is so.
What is not is not is not.

Magic isn’t real.
It is stories.
It is fake fairy wings
strapped to a child’s back.

She wasn’t real.
She was just a slight thing.
She was a whisper.
She was ethereal.

She needed me to believe.
She needed me to see
That what she said
That what she was
Was real.

I was afraid to say it.
I was afraid to believe it.
After so long a disbeliever.
How could I change?
How could I believe?

“Try.” she said soft.
“Look.” she said gentle.
“Touch.” she said true.
“Help me.”
“And lead me home.”

She looked at me with faith.
She looked at me with hope.
She held her small leaf hands to me.

So.

I tried.
I looked at her
And I saw.
I touched her
And I knew.

How could I not believe?
How could I refuse?
She needed me so.
I couldn’t turn her away.

“Come.” I said.
“I will lead you home.”

https://tuckedintoacorner.wordpress.com/2017/01/11/letters-to-euturpe-42/

 

 

Leave a Reply

