Almost Welcome

You are almost welcome.
I might let you in.
I might say hello and have a cup of tea.
I might ask you about your children.
I might ask you about your day.

You are almost welcome.
I might let you in.
The rain is wet and the rain is cold.
I might tell you to take your coat off.
I might make you something warm to drink.
I might offer you my hand to hold.

You are almost welcome.
But then again.
You are not welcome.
Not really almost.
Not quite there.
But so close to welcome to stay.

Not really.
Not quite.

Don’t stay.
Don’t linger.
Don’t ask for a cup of tea
or a plate of scones.
Don’t ask me about my children.
Don’t ask me about my day.

You were almost welcome.
Not really.
But you were before your children came.
But you were before my children came.

You are not welcome anymore.

Leave a Reply

