Too Many Differences

If we were having a cup of coffee, I’d want a cappuccino and you would ask for a skim milk latte.

If we were having a cup of tea, I’d want Darjeeling and you would ask for Earl Grey.

If we were having a cup of hot chocolate, I’d want it extra hot and you would want it at half heat.

If we were having a cup of water, I’d want it hot and you would want it cold with ice.

Sometimes I wish you were more like me. I wish you would like what I like and not the things you like.

I wish you were an early riser.

I wish you liked things like Tabasco sauce and white wine and Manchego cheese.

I wish you liked to sing the same songs I love and dance to the beat I prefer.

I wish you weren’t so different from me.

I wish you’d watch Food Network instead of ESPN.

I wish you’d read fantasy instead of science fiction.

I wish you’d like Darjeeling instead of Earl Grey.

I wish the things I love and the things you love were one and the same.

I wish we were one and the same.

I wish I could find peace with our differences.

I wish I could try.

I know I can’t.

Good-bye.

Leave a Reply

