Daily Prompt: One Fry Day

I haven’t had a French fry in a very long time.

Don’t get me wrong: I loved them as a kid.

But as soon as I got out of that whole adolescent/teenager food glomping thing, I realized something important.

I didn’t need French fries to feel good about myself.

I could live just fine without them.

And you know what? I have. I have lived a peachy keen life free of all of those greased up fats slathered all over and into a poor pathetic slice of an excuse for a potato.

I don’t need the starches.

Don’t need the grease.

Don’t need the mega trans fats.

I am a survivor of my horrible teen years.

And my life is just right.

***

My life is not just right anymore.

The man I loved.

The man I thought was 100% the one.

That man…He’s gone and left me.

Even wrote me a Dear Jane letter and stuck it on the fridge.

Couldn’t even give it to me in person.

He’s gone.

I don’t know how to handle this.

I don’t know how to process this through my mind and make any sense of it.

I read his letter over and over and over. I can see the words in my head when I look away. I can see the curve of his letters. The pin-prick perfection of his punctuation marks.

I recite it when I take a shower and before I go to sleep.

No matter how hard I try, it doesn’t make sense.

His words are empty and useless to me. They’re just scrawls of ink on paper and I can’t make sense of them.

I need to get out of the house.

I need to get something to eat.

I need something to uplift my crushed down spirit.

I need what I haven’t had in such a long time.

French fries.

They will make the pain dissipate.

I will feel better.

I need the carbs and the starches.

I need the saturated trans fats.

I need to know that everything will be fine with salt and ketchup all over it.

I’m going to stop at the first fast food place I see and order the largest size of French fries.

And I know.

Everything will be all right.

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/fry/

via Daily Prompt: Fry

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: One Fry Day

Leave a Reply

