Only For You

This short story was inspired by Sarah Doughty’s micropoem “Thumping”. 

https://thesarahdoughty.wordpress.com/2017/02/24/thumping/

“I’m going to tell you a secret.” He whispered the words so soft in her ear. “I trust you.” He paused and said in a softer whisper, “My heart beats only for you.”

Susan smiled. “All lovers say that and many husbands and wives.”

“They don’t mean it the way I do. Whenever you leave me, whenever you aren’t around, my heart stutters, sputters, and stops. I stand in suspended animation. Unable to think. Unable to breathe. Unable to move. Then, you return and my life returns. My heart beats again.”

“That is the most beautiful thing any man has ever said to me.”

“It isn’t beauty.”

“It’s poetry.”

“It isn’t poetry.”

“Then, what is it?”

“It’s truth. All truth.”

“Of course, it is.” She kissed him.

His heart beat strong as he kissed her.

“I’ll see you in a little bit. I have to get some things from the store.” She grabbed her purse, blew him a kiss, and left.

His expression dulled.

The light in his eyes darkened.

His posture wilted.

His arms hung limp.

She’ll be home soon. was his last conscious thought before his brain fully shut down.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Only For You

Leave a comment